Ice Hockey
Journalists UK
Sheppard And Bosas Scoop Gongs

Doug Sheppard has lifted this season’s EPL Coach of the Year following a magnificent season behind the Basingstoke bench that has witnessed the Hampshire side lift their first league title since 1993.

Bison had a club record 40 win season, a victory ratio of 74% that led to the EPL trophy being lifted by captain Aaron Connolly a few weeks ago.

In responding to the news of the award, Sheppard said: "Whilst it is an honour to be named the coach of the year, this success is really down to the incredible team that I have surrounding me in Basingstoke."

'We have enjoyed a memorable season together, with every guy giving their commitment to helping achieve our goals.”

EPL MVP for the 2015/16 is 6'4", 200lbs Arnoldas Bosas. The 25 year old Lithuanian finished an impressive first season in the UK with the Sheffield Steeldogs notching 50 goals & 36 assists, good for 86 points in just 52 contests.

Bosas has spent the last number of years in Kazakhstan where he competed against Steelers D Man, Ben O'Connor, the British blueliner was quick to praise the powerful right winger to Shane Smith & Greg Wood.

Player-Coach Greg Wood responded to his forward's award: “As a club we are delighted that Arnoldas has been elected as MVP for the EPL, an accolade that is thoroughly deserved.

"He has been a pleasure to coach this season and his attitude and professionalism has been second to none. He is an exciting talent to watch and it is no surprise to me that he has been chosen for this award.

"His consistent, high level performances have driven the Steeldogs to some memorable victories over the course of the 2015/16 season.”

EPL ALL STAR 1ST TEAM: Jon Baston (Basingstoke Bison), Kurt Reynolds (Basingstoke Bison), Leigh Jamieson (MK Lightning), Tomas Karpov (Basingstoke Bison), Ciaran Long (Basingstoke Bison), Arnoldas Bosas (Sheffield Steeldogs)

EPL ALL STAR 2ND TEAM: Janis Auxins (Peterborough Phantoms), Stuart Mogg (Basingstoke Bison), Kevin Phillips (Guildford Flames), Rene Jarolin ((Basingstoke Bison/MK Lightning), Aaron Nell (Swindon Wildcats), Craig Scott (Peterborough Phantoms)

Thank you to Jake Oakley for the picture of Arnoldas Bosas.

Click here for more news
2008 - 2016 (c) All materials copyright of IHJUK