Ice Hockey
Journalists UK
Thompson and Martin Lift EIHL Awards
Joey Martin

Paul Thompson has marked his return to the British game by picking up the Ice Hockey Journalists UK Award for Coach of the Year.

“Thommo” arrived back into UK Hockey amongst much fanfare, tasked with building on Gerad Adams' Championship winning foundations, taking the knowledge built from several seasons in the European Leagues and applying it back in Sheffield.

As successful a CHL campaign as could have been expected against some very tough opposition springboarded the Steelers' domestic campaign and although the season went to an incredible last weekend climax of games, Sheffield were never far from the top and closed out a second title in as many years with victory over Fife in Kirkcaldy.

Thompson responded to the news of the award: "Thanks, I really appreciate the award, it was a huge team effort this season, we had our injury setbacks like many other clubs, but we were resilient and ultimately pulled through.

"I think it all caught up with us and the playoffs were just a game or two too many but we’ve already started to build towards next season and another go at the Champions Hockey League before trying to defend that League Championship ”

Following in the skates of Mathieu Roy, this seasons Elite League Player of The Year is the Cardiff Devils star forward, Joey Martin.

Martin led the Devils & the EIHL in points, 84 from 63 games, consistency supreme, he tallied 84 points in last year’s competition also.

Todd Kelman spoke for the Cardiff Devils about the accolade: “Joey is our most consistent player and we are delighted to see him recognised by the journos. He’s an incredibly talented guy but above that he does all the little thing right at both ends of the ice.

"He leads by example, when you see your top scorer blocking shots on the penalty kill, it forces others to buy in.

EIHL ALL STAR 1ST TEAM: Ben Bowns (Cardiff Devils), Andrew Hotham (Cardiff Devils), Jace Coyle (Sheffield Steelers), Tyler Mosienko (Sheffield Steelers), Joey Martin (Cardiff Devils), Juraj Kolnik (Nottingham Panthers)

EIHL ALL STAR 2nd TEAM: Chris Holt (Braehead Clan), Derrick Walser (Belfast Giants), Ben O’Connor (Sheffield Steelers), Matt Keith (Braehead Clan), James Desmarais (Belfast Giants), Matt Sisca (Manchester Storm)

Thank you to Al Goold for the picture of Joey Martin.

Click here for more news
2008 - 2016 (c) All materials copyright of IHJUK